A free gift for all my readers

I was impressed by the speed at which the staff of the House of Commons Private Bill Office scanned in petitions against the HS2 Phase 1 hybrid Bill, virtually as they were being deposited in their hundreds, and made them available on the parliamentary website via a listing. Inevitably, as this listing was prepared as petitions were being received, it is a serial inventory, organised by petition number.

I have been using this listing in my preparation for writing my blogs and have found that trying to find a particular petition is problematic, unless the petition number is to hand. It can take more than one run through the nearly two thousand listings to locate the one that you are looking for, as it is easy – at least I have found it easy – to overlook the target petition as you scan through such a long list.

What I felt that I needed was an alphabetical listing, by petitioner. Since there seemed very little prospect of Santa Claus coming early this year, and such a listing being deposited in my stocking, I resolved to make one for myself. I should have thought a little more about the size of the task before embarking on it, but foolishly didn’t, and must confess that I didn’t get very far into the work before I was beginning to regret starting it. However, I stuck with it and the result of my labours can now be shared with you.

Now that the pain of producing this magnum opus has numbed a little, I am very glad to have it by my side. It makes my researches so much easier, and I hope that you will similarly find it useful should you also develop an unhealthy interest in the “who and what” of petitioning the hybrid Bill.

As was my purpose, I have listed alphabetically on the identity of the petitioner, whether that be an individual (or individuals), a commercial company, or an organisation. The key word, or phrase, that I have used for this purpose is identified in bold font in each entry. Where I have considered it appropriate, I have identified more than one key word or phrase for each entry and recorded separate entries for each, with the different key word or phrase used for each particular entry identified in that entry. An example of where I have thought this necessary would be a couple where each has a different surname. Where there are multiple individual petitioners I have used the device adopted by the Private Bill Office of using “and others”, rather than identifying, and indexing, all of those named in the petition.

To give a couple of examples of this approach:

“Jeffrey Patrick Addison and other residents of Hale Road and Hazeldean, Wendover” has three entries: one where the keyword is Addison, one under Hale, and one under Hazeldean.

“The Swynnerton HS2 Action Group, the Whitmore & Baldwins Gate HS2 Action Group, the Madeley HS2 Action Group and William Cash MP” has four entries: one where the keyword is Cash, one under Madeley, one under Swynnerton, and one under Whitmore.

All entries are provided with a link to the petition document, as stored on the parliamentary website – just click on the petition number.

I have included a “comments” column, in which I have recorded any information that I have about the progress of the petition, including scheduled and actual dates of being heard by the Select Committee. I have also provided, where available, links to the video of the session (or sessions) at which the petition was heard by the Select Committee and to the transcript of that session.

I suppose that it is inevitable, in view of the speed with which the staff of the Private Bill Office put their list together, that I have identified a fair number of what I consider to be errors in that list. I have noted these in the “comments” column and have sent a long e-mail to the Private Bill Office listing them, which I am sure they were delighted to receive. Obviously, I can’t guarantee that this will result in the errors being rectified.

It is my intention to update this list regularly, as far as I am able.

Now you have to admit that’s much better than finding a plastic toy at the bottom of your cornflakes box.

PS: I updated my alphabetic listing on 3rd January 2016 to include all of the hearings held up to the Christmas recess. I have also added details of and links to petitions against the fourth additional provision, which are now listed on the parliamentary website, as well as details of any locus challenges.

Important disclaimer: Whilst I have made every effort to provide accurate information in my schedule of petitions, it is offered for use in good faith only. I can accept no responsibility for any outcome to which any errors in the document may contribute, and this is a condition of making the schedule available for use. Users of the schedule are, accordingly, advised to verify the information provided before making use of it.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Les Fawcett on September 8, 2014 at 8:55 am

    Thanks Peter, that’s a very useful piece of work.

    Reply

  2. So helpful, great piece of work thank you

    You might want to note that 0468 was submitted by the Camden Town CofE Ministry Team and concerns the church of St Mary the Virgin in Eversholt Street.
    The church of Old St Pancras would have no locus being over by Kings Cross St Pancras stations outside the Euston area.

    St Pancras Parish Church (petition 1843) is of couse right in the thick of it all.

    Reply

    • Thank you for your appreciation Dorothea and welcome to the site.
      I have to confess to being a little confused by the your clarification of just who the petitioner is for 0468. The petition document identifies the petitioner as “the Parish of Old St Pancras” and there is no reference anywhere in the document to “Camden Town CofE Ministry Team”. Also, the websites for the four churches identify themselves as under the umbrella of “the Parish of Old St Pancras” and the petition is signed by Fr Philip North, who is identified on the websites as the “Team Rector” for the Parish of Old St Pancras.
      What I propose to do is to change the entry in the list of petitions to “Parish of Old St Pancras, in relation to the Church of St Mary, Eversholt Street” and to index on the name of the church as well as the parish.
      I hope that this proposal is OK with you.

      Reply

  3. Posted by Robert Latham on September 9, 2014 at 7:51 am

    Your index is very useful.

    I also attach two indexes which we have obtained:

    HS2’s Index to the Euston Petitions

    Camden’s Index of the Camden Petitions; this is three CFA areas.

    Robert Latham
    Chair, HS2 Euston Action Group

    Reply

Leave a Reply

